Swimming With the Fish For the Second Time by Meg Schultheis

I sit down for round one of the Legacy Open, one of the main events at the SCG Open in Cincinnati this weekend, and begin getting my stuff situated onto the table. I hear a voice speaking to me and I look up.”Awww, I wish I was playing against you.” This guy, whom is playing at the table to my left, is trying to talk to me. I give a funny look and respond, “Why?” He says, “‘Cuz you’re a good matchup for me.” I realize I haven’t even pulled my deck out of my deckbox yet. “How do you know what I’m playing?” I’m vey confused at this point and he says, “I don’t.” I don’t respond and carry on with getting prepared for the long day ahead of me. I have been to quite a few Magic Tounaments in my life, but to be quite honest, this is one of the first deroggatory comments I have had directed in my direction. The players at my local card shop have a lot of respect for me and my ability to sling cards, and I take a lot of pride in that. But, this kid, whom I have never met in my life, has just judged me for being female.

I have played Standard for about two years now, but only recently have I begun to play legacy. In fact, this tournament was only the second tournament I have ever played this format in. I actually enjoy Legacy more than I enjoy standard. I play a pretty mainstream version of Merfolk, and I enjoy playing against a different deck every round. Also, not really knowing the format, I don’t usually know what I’m playing against right away, and I look at it like a giant puzzle that I need to solve in order to win. I shuffle up my cards and prepare for round one.

I find myself paired up against a combo deck that I later find out is called Cephalid Breakfast. Basically, Cephalid Breakfast works with the interactions between Cephalid Illusionist and Nomads en-Kor. Playing Merfolk, I find that I am already behind playing against combo decks and I quickly lose this round. Already being annoyed with the guy that threw the rude comment at me before I shuffled up my cards to play, losing round one put me pretty down in the dumps.

Round two I get paired up against the mirror. Game one, my opponent mulls to four, and having a turn one vial, I easily take down this game. I board in my Llawan, Cephalid Empress’ and my extra dismembers expecting for him to do the same. Neither of us see our Llawan’s, and I had no issues taking down my opponent 2-0.

Round three I sit down across from Christian Valenti. “Great…” I mumble to myself. Game one I quickly realize he is playing NO Rug and while applying pressure with my fish, I hold onto my counterspells like they are gold. Finally he scoops up his cards and we begin sideboading for game two. Game two I end up letting a Grim Lavamancer resolve, and I was unable to deal with it in the late game. Not having much time left in the round, we quickly reshuffle up and prepare for game three. In no time at all, Christian plays a vendillion clique at the end of my turn, and has me put the only out I had to him playing a Natural Order on the bottom of my library, a Phyrexian Metamorph. He precedes to take his turn, and plays a Natural Order on his turn and gets Progenitus. He passes his turn, I draw my card, which happens to be a land, and I scoop up my cards and shake his hand. He looks at me and says, “You play magic quite well.” I remember what was said to me before round one and start to snicker. “Thanks” I said while checking the drop box on the match results slip.

So, the day didn’t quite go as well as planned. Oh well. I spent the rest of the day watching my friends play and had a great time. I understand that I am still very new to the format, and it will take me some getting used to.

Time to start preparing for SCG Pittsburgh where I will probably give Merfolk another chance. I hope to see you all there!

Posted on July 28, 2011, in Articles. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

